Act a Fool: A Lesson in Colossians 4:5

Image

Fools . . . the Bible tells us there are MANY kinds. The kind that doesn’t believe in God. The kind who get mad quick. The kind who talk all the time and never listen. The kind who vent their anger. The kind who cares not for true wisdom but likes to hear her own opinion . . .

I could go on here but you get the general idea. A fool is ruled by her emotions. I don’t know about ya’ll but me and my emotions are long time enemies. We are like two platinum recording artists back stage at the VH1 Diva’s Concert. “I asked for green M&M’s – I know I did. These look brown. (Pout. Stomp. Adult-temper-tantrum.) God where are my green M&M’s! Why did SHE get green M&M’s?”

Or maybe for you children of the 90’s I am best described as a spiritual Pinky. When it comes to my emotions let’s just say “NARF” is my middle name! Emotions are a funny thing. We ALL have them. We all get hurt. We all act flat out stupid sometimes because of them. Yet when I think of emotions I think of Job.

Job was an emotional guy – how could he not be?! His family was crushed by his roof. His livestock were toast. He lost all his money. His wife was gone. He broke out in painful sores. In a  nutshell . . . frankly it SUCKED to be Job! But even overrun with emotion Job never acted foolishly.

  • He continued to trust God when he lost His wife.
  • He continued to love God when his children were tragically killed.
  • He continued to praise God when his livestock were taken.
  • He still felt rich when he lost his worldly riches.
  • He continued to serve God when His body failed Him.

But sooner or later . . . Job regains his humanity. In other words . . . NARF is about to rear it’s ugly head! Job asks God the burning question so many of us ask when it flat out stinks to be us . . .

WHY ME, LORD?!

I love the response that God gives, a response that proves just how foolish we really are. In all His infinite wisdom He asks Job a series of thought provoking questions . . . “Who [is] this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge? Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.”

OUCH. In other words – “Man up, Job . . . I’m about to ask you some serious stuff that you aren’t gonna know the answer to and you are about to be schooled. Please feel free to remember the time you were writing love letters in fourth period Algebra when Mrs. Johnson asked “Quick Job, what is the answer to this equation – g-2/6-g+3/9?”

Exactly. 

“Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.”

Ok, no takers I see. 

“When the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?
Or [who] shut up the sea with doors, when it brake forth, [as if] it had issued out of the womb?”

What was that? NARF?

“Knowest thou the time when the wild goats of the rock bring forth? [or] canst thou mark when the hinds do calve?”

Can’t say that you do?

“Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct [him]? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.”

In other words . . . “The student is not going to become the master today. You have no clue. I made everything. I made you. I made the ground beneath your feet. You have just brought your Play Dough into an art lesson with Michelangelo. Very interested in your answer here, Job.”

Job tucks down his head. “Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.”

Modern Translation. “Oh, snap. Why in the world did I question you? You’re BIG. I’m little. I’m wrong. You’re RIGHT. Anything I can do . . . you can do better.”

No matter how good we think we are with handling our emotions the truth is that at some point or other we all let our emotions run the show. I know I do. I know I am probably the biggest fool on the planet when it comes to holding my tongue, slowing my anger and basically not getting my panties in a bunch over silly things.

Joyce Meyer and I often end up doing back to back devotionals over at CBN. I think that’s probably a God thing because the good Lord knows I have a problem with my feelings! And Joyce is an amazing teacher on controlling our feelings and not letting our feelings control us. I love what Joyce says about the way we “feel”. “It is not about doing what we feel like. It is about doing what God says.”

And a lot of times you know what? I FEEL like being mad. I FEEL like pouting. I FEEL like being selfish. And so many times I let those feelings take me over. I know better, sure I do. But feelings are my hang up. Feelings make me act pretty foolish. My emotions drop my spiritual IQ pretty drastically. I’d do so much better to suck up the anger. Suck up the pouting. Suck up the selfishness . . . and embrace the real and true self control that is the fruit of the Spirit.

Like Job I have asked “Why me?” Like the man who built his house on sand, I have acted pretty foolishly. I betray the teachings of my Lord and Savior SO many times in the name of my emotions. We all have something that makes us foolish. Whatever it is that makes us act foolishly we should take stock of it.

Today, on the day apparently set aside for fools like me, I am asking God to help me take stock of my own tom foolery. I am asking Him to help me “be wise in the way (I) act”. I know I can never be fulfilled until I learn to control how I fully-feel.

What is your Colossians 4:5 need? What makes you act a fool?

3 thoughts on “Act a Fool: A Lesson in Colossians 4:5

  1. haha this is funny! My emotions drop my spiritual IQ pretty drastically –> ohhhh yes!!!! I was just telling God that last weekend. How come it’s not a sin-cycle but a sin-cyclone for me? =)) praise God for this!

Leave a Reply

