When Life’s Undertow Comes . . . Walk on Water

Image

 

You rule the raging of the sea;
when its waves rise, you still them. Psalm 89:9

 

It is a rainy afternoon. I think I could possibly fall over and land headfirst into the sink full of dirty dishes. The Wiggles have danced their Fruit Salad jig for the 15th time today and thanks to the wonderful people at the baby channel, it’s an ALL DAY marathon. I close my eyes for some clarity and a much needed break from the never ending Wigglethon . . . yep, you guessed it.

When I closed my eyes I STILL see the yellow Wiggle in a big red car.

In the meantime . . .

Someone has just pinched someone else who has by choice or by accident pulled the head off someone’s favorite Barbie. As three kids fight over “who done it” the baby runs away quickly with the Barbie head that is inadvertently exactly the size of his little mouth.

Yep. I know it sounds trivial but in this moment I feel like I’m stuck in the exact same day I have been in for the past year. Tack that on to zapped energy levels from health issues . . . I feel like if stress were rocket fuel I could quite literally rocket myself to the ever-loving moon! Or better yet, if stress were an ocean, I kind of feel like a little sea turtle being swallowed up by the waves. Every time I feel like I am ahead . . . here comes the undertow.

Motherhood and life: both can be tough and leave you questioning your sanity. In the sea of life there are some days that I feel like I’m on a wave that just keeps rolling.

Have you ever felt like that?

Do you feel like you are just a passenger on the vessel of your life?

 

Like you have no control of where things are going: that you have no way of knowing when you will ever reach the shore because you just can’t find the wheel house?

Though everyone’s existence has a different truth and different heights of exhaustion, we all can rest on one certain constant: life is a sea of rolling waves. Each ship is tossed from hither to tether at some given moment; sometimes it feels like every given moment.  But whether your truth lies in the uncontrollable, tragic or simply the stressful like mine. all of our truths stand on one promise: Peace be still.

Just as Jesus said to Peter, He daily reaches His hand to us asking not for our ability to sail without fear but instead to brave the waves with great faith. He asks us to remember that in the time of greatest trial or deepest stress, embarrassment or failure, life or death, that the sun rises on the just and the unjust.  That assures us, no matter where we stray or struggle, though circumstances are different, our God is not indifferent. He cares. He wants to see us soar. He wants to tell everyone when we fly, and He wants EVERY ONE of us to fly.

When our ship tosses in the waves, most importantly of all, He wants to remind us that His hand is ever present. He’ll do the reaching. You simply grab and as the ship goes down rest assured, the hand you hold walks on water and He’ll never let you go down with the ship.

Leave a Reply

