Broken but Beautiful

Image


“Present (it) broken . . .”

Leviticus 6:21 

 

Have you ever felt broken? Have you ever taken a fall from grace and realized that you weren’t walking where you should be? Have you ever stepped back and looked at your life or actions and thought “Why in the world did I act that way?”

I’ve found myself here more times than I would like to admit. I’ve found myself broken more times than many people probably even know. In saying that I’ve found it’s rather freeing. To say “I am imperfect” is an understatement. But there is freedom in the truth. There is freedom in knowing that we can come to one another and say “I am human” and expect no backlash . . . just open arms knowing that we too are imperfect.

I remember a time in my life when I thought being broken meant being useless. I remember thinking that I needed to clean myself up after a fall before I came running back to God. I thought this was the only way He would accept me. Not because I thought I’d be turned away but because I knew He deserved much more than stained clothing and ripped garments.

But as I began to grow in the Lord and as I had children of my own, I had a rather powerful revelation into the heart of our Father. He accepts us just the way we are. Broken, scarred, still trying to get it right . . . this is what makes us loveable – and what made the cross holy. And I used to not understand that. But as a mother I’ve found that sometimes seeing our children fail, makes seeing them succeed even sweeter. For what good is sacrifice without mercy?

If we wait to serve God when we are “cleaned up” . . . we will never serve Him, because we are all sinners. If we wait to praise Him when everything is seamed up perfectly on the hems . . . we’ll never lift our hands – because life is not perfect. And that’s ok . . . because we know someone who is – and someday we’ll go to a place that is flawless and wonderful just like He is.

But until then, from one broken piece to another, I am reminded of my favorite Bible verse when Jesus stands in all His glory at the Sermon on the Mount and speaks specifically to the broken – “It is not the well who need the doctor but the sick. So go and learn what this means, I desire mercy . . . not sacrifice, for I have come not to call the righteous but sinners.”

Don’t let being broken keep you from being beautiful. Remember we serve the God who created not just A tree, but millions of types of trees . . . We serve the God who created not just a few animals but an awe-inspiring collection of creatures. Just like a mosaic shinning beautifully from the hallway of a great gallery, He knows we’re broken – but broken makes us usable. It makes us stronger, it changes us . . . and while He may deserve much more than stained clothing and ripped garments . . . He doesn’t desire that we sacrifice our time and clean up before running to Him. He longs to show us mercy and fix our broken pieces. Because mercy after all is what makes the broken beautiful.

4 thoughts on “Broken but Beautiful

  1. profound…nice post…loved these bits the most – ‘Don’t let being broken keep you from being beautiful.’ and ‘ Because mercy after all is what makes the broken beautiful.’

  2. What a magnificent post! I fail OFTEN. When I do I don’t really struggle with being accepted by God. What I struggle with is how that failure puts a disconnect between ministry and family. You see my family sees the good, the bad, and the ugly of me and I’m feel like they think I’m a hypocrite who should not be in ministry. They have never said that…it’s just how I feel.

    • Oh HOW I RELATED with your comment!! I too feel that way. Never the disconnect from God but always the disconnect of how being in ministry while still being human makes me feel like a major loser sometimes!

Leave a Reply

