Purpose in Disability?

Simply beautiful.

The 5 Bennett Girls

When I worked in the hospital, my very first patient was a man who had a severe childhood injury. Complications from that injury eventually led to surgery that left him handicapped beyond anything I could have imagined. I felt pity for his loss, anger for his suffering, and grief for missed opportunities and experiences. Questions kept pouring through my head…

I questioned if his life was really worth living.

I know. It is not my place to judge, but sometimes you can’t help thoughts that well up. I ended up speaking with my dad about it, a very wise man.  He said something I will never forget.

“Kim, every person, EVERY person, is made in the image of God. It is this fact that makes us valuable and precious.”

That was before I had a special needs baby.  When we found out that JAK had Spina Bifida, all those uncomfortable, faith-challenging thoughts came back in full force.  Why was JAK…

View original post 720 more words

Leave a Reply

