Stop the Violence: Praying for the Three C’s

Image

Another school shooting today – thank God no one was hurt. But how much is too much? How many lives are too many lives?

Too many moms. Too many dads. Too many daughters. Too many sons. 

The truth is – One is one too many. 

Join me in praying for our country today, our children and our congress. Something has GOT to give! Children can’t stand up for themselves . . . we must instead carry them on our shoulders, stand tall and make a difference. 

12 thoughts on “Stop the Violence: Praying for the Three C’s

    • Thanks, Kimmy! 🙂 You’re the best. 😉 Would you mind keeping me in your prayers when you have time? I’ve been having some chest pains. Not sure if it is MS related or stress. If I can pray for you for anything specific please let me know. Hugs! 🙂

      • I sure will. We are meeting up for prayer this morning at our ladies group and will pray there too. Will only mention your name to them. And I will be praying daily for you my dear friend.
        I would love prayer for our 16 year old son, who is really struggling right now, please pray he makes right choices and does not walk away from the Lord. I’d be so grateful knowing you were also holding him in prayer.
        Kimmy xxox

      • Oh, Kimmy, I will certainly pray for your son! 16 is a TOUGH age. When I was a teenager I was a nightmare. I ran away. I cut. The list is TOO long to tell you in this little box.

        I always thought the verse “Raise a child up in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it” meant that I had failed somehow. But I think that we make most mistakes in our youth. I take it to mean it takes a lot of training and they may fall off the wagon because kids will be kids . . . and no matter how far they stray, they will eventually come back to what they were taught. So don’t beat yourself up. I know although mine is a toddler, I have been dealing with his outbursts of cursing! I have no clue where it’s coming from. And I wonder where I went wrong. So don’t feel alone there. I am scared to death that he is going to drop a four letter word at a Christian convention or something!

        I will be praying for your son. I know you both will come through this victoriously! 🙂

        Hugs! And thank you so much for your prayers. 🙂

      • Your message means a great deal to me and I shall hold onto it in days to come, bless you!
        You really touch my heart, I’m so grateful God led me to you.
        Kimmy
        Praying over your little one also, my now 16 year old informed the whole church out the front at age 4, that there is no Santa Claus on Christmas morning. A packed church, filled with other little ones, now in tears 😦 Oh dear! Well I guess he always did have a mind of his own.

      • I’m glad God led us together too, Kimmy. You are so inspiring and have helped me a great deal in the wee morning hours. 🙂 You are a blessing!!!

        Aw, that is sweet! What a story. 🙂 We have always been a Santa family but many of the ministries I serve do not believe in ever making Santa into a real person in Christmas. So I have always been the odd ball. lol Maybe your son just knew that Jesus was the reason for the season! lol 🙂

  1. Guns are not the problem…people are the problem. There has always been violence; since Cain killed Abel. It is a symptom of our sin-sick world. People will always find ways to perpetrate violence on others until Jesus returns and brings peace to our world. Getting rid of guns won’t stop the violence. Willing people to Christ will.

    • Those are all great thoughts, Leah. Violence is as old as time. The extent it has reached is horrible. After all I went through and the guns involved, I just wish there was a way to make it harder for guns to get into the wrong hands. Thanks for sharing your heart, Leah. 🙂

      • Brooke, I totally understand your issues with guns. What people don’t understand and what the news media won’t tell is that you can’t just walk into a gun store and buy a gun without a background check. Neither can you order one and have it delivered to your home like you would an Amazon.com order. Background checks MUST be done in both those situations and the gun must be shipped to a licensed firearms dealer, rather than to the individual.

        Now, when guns are sold individual to individual, background checks are not required. However, even if they were, criminals would still find a way to get guns. So, the issue is not with the guns and the availability of them. There are multiple checks and balances in place for that. Law abiding citizens with guns are not the problem. Government is the problem. Guns are just the issue they want to pursue. Nails and pressure cookers were used in the Boston bombing; knives were used in the recent stabbings. We don’t hear Washington screaming to outlaw those. The government desires to disarm law abiding citizens so they can exercise more control over the populace. It has happened in other countries.

        Sorry, this is just a big issue with my husband and me. We are gun owners and believe in the 2nd amendment and the right to bear arms and defend ourselves. The VAST majority of people like Greg and me are law abiding citizens. It is the small, tiny minority who do not handle them responsibly that cast a shadow on the millions who do.

      • I hear what you are saying. My husband is a hunter and I know it takes a background check to get a gun. I don’t want an outlaw of guns, what I am talking about is finding a way to crack down on the illegal ones. Those are the ones that concern me. There has to be some sort of solution. They go hard after illegal drugs. They should be making more effort to go after illegal guns. What happened to us was with a gun never registered.

        Brooke

Leave a Reply

