Finding Strength in Troubled Times

Mosaic2

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”

Philippians 4:13

Strong . . .
People have always thought I was strong. Why I’m not sure – but the truth is I’m nowhere near it.
The truth is I’m just as broken as the next girl.
But that’s ok.
God doesn’t require that we be strong to be strengthened. In fact, it’s just the opposite! The weaker we are . . . the stronger we become! (2 Corinthians 12:10 “. . . For when I am weak, then I am strong.”
I’ve been through quite a lot in my life. Each instance leaving me more broken than the last. Each time thinking I’d never quite be whole again . . .
And even though that was true, as I grew older, I learned that being broken wasn’t always a bad thing.
My friend Susie is an artist. She makes these amazing mosaics. It totally blows my mind what she can do with broken pieces. If she just took the broken pieces and glued them back together they’d still technically be broken. But if she makes them into something else – they are no longer old, broken things. The old has passed away. The new, captivating thing revealed.
Isn’t this a lot like Jesus?
The old becomes new. The broken – beautiful. When you let Jesus in He spills up and over and under the messy pieces like colored mortar. He binds our wounds.  And while we may never be put together the same way again, our pieces are rearranged into something so much better.
If you’ve ever taken a look at my life and thought I was strong – I want you to know you’re not seeing strength here. No m’am. You aren’t seeing anything that isn’t common. I’m content to say what you’re seeing is the God in me. He has given me beauty for ashes.
There is no life too broken and no pieces top many . . .
Jesus wants to make your life beautiful. He wants to give you beauty for ashes. Do you need His strength? Do you need your pieces rearranged?
Come to Jesus. He makes the broken beautiful.

What’s broken in your life? I’d be simply honored to pray for your needs. Just drop me a line below.

5 thoughts on “Finding Strength in Troubled Times

  1. broken in my life? hmmm, i think this season’s winter is almost over. how does spring look like, brooke? 🙂 i’m not really too eager for it. 🙂 i’m already enjoying winter.

Leave a Reply

