You’re Stronger than You Know

Image

When I was first diagnosed with MS it was just weeks before Christmas. I remember falling apart – completely. I remember feeling totally sorry for myself. I remember crying into my pillow and into the crook of my husband’s arm. If I had to choose between living that moment over and eating a live beetle – I’d likely choose the beetle.

I busted my butt on Christmas Eve trying to walk across the floor to retrieve the gift tape. Thankfully this was funnier than it was butt-shattering. But boy did it sting!

Funny though you know . . . how falling has a weird effect on us women . . .

We have this gender-driven desire to keep moving – to GET UP. We need to keep things going. We need to take care of people, things, life . . . for heaven’s sake – there is laundry to do and likely a fight to break up somewhere in the house! πŸ™‚

So in falling hard, like all of you other women out there, falling did something amazing for me – it made me look up. And when I DID look up, I saw not only the direction God would have me set my gaze . . .

Image

But I also saw the faces.

Image

“MOMMY! Are you ok?!” – five little inquiring minds want to know.

Image

Ok. I thought. Was I really ok? Physically, yes. Aside from a bruised butt, walking into walls and watching the room spin round like a top – I was ok. But emotionally, I was a wreck.Β 

Image

Β 

“I’m ok.” I smiled even though I wasn’t yet. I knew I would be. I noted Santa had best leave me one of those donut pillows that my cousin Mary Beth Β had to use when she actually broke her tuckus bone cheer-leading when we were kids. Poor Mary Beth will never live that down!

Falling hard was the start of Mary Beth’s funny looking donut butt pillow – and for me? It was the start of looking up again.

Image

It was the moment that I decided to trade in my sweats and put on my makeup when I went to the hospital for treatments.

It was at that moment I knew I would keep being the wife my husband deserved. Who cared if she was off balance any how – that meant she could be wrapped in his arms more often.

It was the moment I decided I’d keep on doing the things I loved even if it meant doing them different now and then.

It was the moment I decided poor-pitiful-me wasn’t going to fly anymore. Not if I wanted to learn to fly with my new wings of faith.

If you would have asked me two years ago if I was strong enough – I would have told you no. And it would have been the truth. But the more I live the more I learn that I’m stronger than I ever realized and that’s all because I have a Savior who knows I am far too weak to handle this alone. And that’s why He’d never let me.

Now I certainly still have my moments – I fall physically, I fall spiritually – emotionally especially! But I’ve learned that falling NEVER means I’m down for the count. And you, my friend, you aren’t either.

No matter what you are going through, take heart. When you fall, look up.

See the faces?

They will become the reason you are stronger than you know.

Image

20 thoughts on “You’re Stronger than You Know

      • Hi … recently I am getting 8 to 10 emails for the same notice and so on … then I don’t hear at all .. Just thought you should know and I do enjoy all your posts .Thanks Rick=) I am commenting since wordpress say my replies are not getting through?

      • It’s my privilege to hear from you! – thank you sincerely! God’s Blessings to YOU and YOURS!

  1. Reblogged this on Hope in the Healing and commented:
    This lady is more than amazing…Brooke Keith is an overcomer! An amazing writer, she is also a wife and a mother who is living with MS. Her perspective inspires me because she is REAL. She has been a friend to me the last four months, a confidante and an encourager. I know this will bless you today as it has me…please take the time to read it and be strengthened. You will grow to love her as much as I do…

  2. Pingback: You’re Stronger Than You Know…

    • Thank you for stopping by. πŸ™‚ Sorry it took me so long to thank you. I have been busy trying to get my Bible study ready for press. God bless you through and through! πŸ™‚

  3. Brooke,
    Thank you for making me look up.
    I’m a mom of four with multiple medical issues that are slowly robbing me of my mobility. You’ve made me see that although I’m not one for pity parties (not prolonged ones anyways!) that I’ve not gotten “back up” yet… The make up is still off, the hair unbelievably long and not stylish. I did give up on “me”. How are my kids going to listen to me say “you have to take care of yourself!!” when I, myself, don’t?? I’ve gotten on with getting on, but I’d left myself and my pride behind. Why?
    I need to pray and think on this, but I have to say Thank God He (and Candacejo!) led me here. And Thank you again Brooke! πŸ™‚

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your medical issues. Don’t ever give up on you. God has great plans for your life! I’ve found that I’ve been given a really great platform as a mom who deals with something a little out of the ordinary. I am a living example to my kids that if I can do this . . .they can do anything.

      Take today to be good to yourself. Do something that makes you feel good about you. Treat yourself to a new outfit, a new lipstick or just paint your toes. I know it sounds silly – but sometimes I feel like I’m putting on my war paint when I put on my makeup! lol

      God bless you! Be brave.

  4. Hi, I just wrote a long post thanking you and it got deleted because I didn’t know I had to log in first! God bless you!! You’re a sensitive soul, a great writer, inspiring and God has great plans for you!!!!

    • What kind words, Linda! They made my week. I too have been the victim of the long post and log in boo-boo. I forget that a lot and I’ve lost I don’t know how many LONG posts because of it. πŸ™‚ God bless you, Linda!

  5. This is one of the most beautiful things I have read in a long time–and so very true. Thank you for allowing the Lord to use you in such wonderful ways. Leaning on the Everlasting Arms…

  6. Dearest Brooke,
    Your post was such an encouragement to me, thank you! I totally agree with the above reply, you are ‘Beautiful’!

Leave a Reply

