Spiritual Makeovers: But Cher!

Image

 

“Cher, I don’t want to do this anymore . . . and my buns, they don’t feel nuthin’ like steel!” You 90’s girls may recognize that as a quote from one of my favorite guilty pleasure movies . . . CLUELESS.

Aside from the teenage mellow-drama, weird clothing, feather pens (you remember those) and valley speak . . . AS IF . . . there is a story line, well kind of. Cher, this totally gorgeous, popular, rich daughter-of-a-lawyer, meets a new “grunge”-girl-slacker student named Tai. Add in a love interest and a few shopping trips and you have a classic chick flick . . . 

Well, of course now this movie calls for the cliche to end all girl movie cliches . . . we must have a fast-paced music monologue with snippets of a fast-forwarded makeover!

To sum it up for you, Cher dyes poor Tai’s hair. She makes her wear a stupid workout uniform and use words like sporadically. I’m a writer and I had to look that up once. Then she makes her do a few hours of Buns of Steel. Hence, where my favorite quote comes in. 

She’s about sick of this crap . . . and her buns don’t feel like steel at all!

Sometimes I think we all feel this way when we are going through the fast paced music monologue of a God makeover. Sure, way different from a Cher makeover, but still. At first I’m all “Wee! What are we gonna do next, God? Huh? Huh? Huh?!” Then I get super whiny, “GOoooood . . . are we there yet?! I’m sick of this! I wanna go home! And my buns they don’t feel nuthin’ like steel!” Or whatever the spiritual equivalent of buns are but you get the idea.

Like any good chick flick I know that in the end I’m going to come out fierce, fabulous, ready to take on the world. My soul’s gonna be gorgeous and my purpose is going to shine. Right now thought, it’s tough. Waiting in the beautician’s chair takes patience and courage. Especially if you are going with a completely new look. 

But if you are just patient enough, if you have the grit to lay it all on the line to book a makeover appointment with the Master of all makeovers? You can bet on one thing, girl. It ain’t gonna be easy . . . but that’s because beauty hurts. Besides- take heart. He makes everything beautiful in it’s time. So hang on – you’re about to get a glimpse in the mirror and what you see is gonna rock your world. 

Are you feeling like throwing in the towel and going back to your “grungy” clothes? Please don’t. Life just wouldn’t be the same without a makeover.  Spiritual or otherwise. 

 

4 thoughts on “Spiritual Makeovers: But Cher!

    • Thank you, Thea! 🙂 You are so sweet. It seems like that movie just came out yesterday. And now they are calling grunge a vintage look . . . that makes me feel old! 🙂

Leave a Reply

