When You’re Worn

Image

 

 

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”  Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”  And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down.  Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

Matthew 14:29-32

 

 

Worn . . .

Our Savior was worn.

His journey to Bethlehem rocky. His birth extraordinary. His mission trying. His ministry – traveling.

If I could own one piece of the Savior’s clothing I’m quite sure of it – it would be His shoes.

A sermon on a Mount – be anxious for nothing,

Deserts and cities – shake the dust from your feet,

Through crowded cobble-stoned pathways – who touched Me?

A back way’s street sharing conversation with John – inside jokes we’ll never know.

Calvary’s hill . . . Are you the one they call Messiah – I AM.

The soles of our Savior, weathered with great tribulation, told the love story of a man head over heels for humanity.

I don’t know about you, but so many times in my life I feel completely and totally WORN. Health fails and heart strings pluck, bending like the strings on my Daddy’s Gibson when I was a girl. I run myself ragged and borrow on tomorrow’s can-do for today’s can’t. I hold onto the ballet flats with the scuffs and scrapes, dirty soles, scuffed toes, leather threatening to tear completely away and leave me bare . . . and yet, through it all I am reminded that I may be WORN but WORN can be holy.

Like the soles of our Savior, WORN is the outward and inward sobs of hearts who cry out, spirits weary, those who face more than their fair share of heartache, those who struggle to make sense of their lives and their purpose . . .

And through all this, these WORN few SHINE. They are the living testimonies to the Savior who came before them. They may be worn but they are not worn-out. They are just used-up – hearts with a mighty purpose, a beacon shining from the coast, reflecting a way where there is none.

Your vessel may feel lost, far beyond reach, on a tempest sea in wait for the miracles of a Savior who promised. When you are WORN and can’t carry on, when the storms rage and you are stuck on an ocean without a name – know this. The soles of a worn Savior travel and they walk on water too. 

One thought on “When You’re Worn

  1. With Him holding my hand, may I be as faithful in walking the pathway before me, as He was in walking His. In knowing all things, He chose. In knowing Him, I choose as well.

Leave a Reply

