Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

Image

 

Welcome to Day 5!

You guys have all been doing so great and I want you to know that I’m pouring my heart into these… even when they aren’t easy. At some point during these 40 days one of the dares are going to hit hard – and that’s where this one is hitting me today. 

After an eventful Mother’s Day eve with my MS  leaving the room spinning like a top – and the way our five littles were acting up yesterday (there must have been something in the water)- I can tell you that I was thinking of spending my Mother’s Day in a tree somewhere with the squirrels! Have you ever had a day like that? Where you just want to pack a small bag and take up shop in the forest?

We’ve all been there. 

Many people say that grumbling can actually help you get your feelings off your chest. But I have found that anytime I grumble my mood only worsens and bad moods are contagious. Today we are all going to strive to refrain from complaining and replace those words with thankfulness. Today we are going to SPEAK LIFE!

 

DAILY DARE #5: Two words – no grumbling. The number of instances of grumbling will be the amount of times you will repeat tomorrow’s dare. Keep track of times you complained today by placing a slip of paper in a hat or jug. At the end of the day you’ll see how the little complaints add up QUICK. 

 

*Who do you complain to most?

#JoinTheRedolution

 

6 thoughts on “Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

  1. I love this one. I’ve found that on days when I’m in my worst mood, if I will make myself smile, and say at least a few positive things, it can change the whole course of the day. Maybe it doesn’t always work, but usually it does and when I’m more positive I feel my heart is more open to have God work through me. Have a blessed Mother’s Day.

  2. This is a huge one for me. As you may recall, for Lent I gave up complaining. Sweet mercy, that was quite an undertaking. I had no idea how much I complained. So, now I try to make ME a grumble-free zone. It’s more difficult than it seems at first blush.

    • Oh yes! I remember you doing that on your blog… and I tell you – you are 100 percent right. I never even knew I was doing it until after it flew from my mouth. Actually got dare-checked by my 8 year old who said “Aren’t you supposed to stop complaining today?” lol “Yes, Emily.. I am.” Accountability…. it’s tough.

Leave a Reply

