Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

Image

 

Welcome to Day 8!

Giving is something many of us wish we could do more often. As the mother of five kids hand-me-downs have always been a part of our world. Thankfully though our kids always like getting the older kids things. Jack just turned four and he is so proud of the fact that he can finally fit into his brother’s Croc’s. I love to see him put on those shoes and get on his little car pretending he is his big brother. Somehow, someway, those hand-me-down shoes, in his mind, change him.

He’s stronger.

Bigger.

Tougher.

Jesus told us that giving was very powerful. It changed things – and people – and many times those people were the ones who did the giving. Perhaps maybe those most of all.

DAILY DARE: Today pick an item from your closet, cabinet or jewelry box that you will give to someone else but choose an item that is hard to part with. Think on these red words as you choose what to give and who to give it to. Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

 

 

8 thoughts on “Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

  1. Just sent some more box loads of items to a Christian outreach store … the more I send though, releasing some of the items tugs at my heartstrings … admit to being an emotional buyer and dare I say ‘hoarder’ … to say goodbye to some my beloved girls dress up clothes, books, toys etc from yesteryear wasn’t easy; but I know that the funds received from them … in another’s life … will be priceless. Praying you are feeling better Brooke xxx

    • That’s wonderful! That’s so kind of you to give away things – especially if you are an emotional buyer. That is me all the way!

      Yes – my husband assures me I am a hoarder too! lol I save everything and I can honestly remember my kids wearing everything they own!

      Your prayers mean the world to me. Thank you so much, Liana!

  2. I am reading Jen Hatmaker’s book ‘7’, which is all about getting rid of the excess in our lives. I have already given away several bags of clothing, and am now going through my closet a second time. I am also perusing my home. There are things just sitting around collecting dust that someone else could be using, so I am beginning to make arrangements to give some of those away. I have too much. I am thankful for what I have, but certainly could make do with less.

    • That sounds like a great book! I will have to pick it up. Leah, you are already so giving and compassionate. You are one step ahead of the dares. 🙂 And I love that about you.PS – I saw that HeBrews is on preorder!! That is just so exciting. I am really behind on emails this week but I have been meaning to drop you one and tell you that I saw it on Amazon and I nearly peed. lol

  3. Thank you for this reminder about giving to others, especially to those who are less fortunate as who do not have the nice things in life. I go through my closet fairly often and would give to the Red Cross and other NPO’s. It is really more blessed to give than to receive. God bless you and happy to connect with you.

Leave a Reply

