Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

Image

 

Welcome to Day 10!

I want to start today off with a BIG thank you. Thank you for letting me be a small, small part of this radical journey you are on. From day one, it’s been clear that this thing doesn’t belong to me… it belongs to US. Together we are growing, changing and leaning into our purposes. That has inspired me in ways you will never, ever know. 

Today, belief has been on my heart. I think it’s safe to say that all of us at some point in our walk with God have wrestled with belief. Belief that things would ever get better. Belief that God would fulfill what He had promised. Belief that even when we didn’t feel like it ,God was up there, somewhere, listening to us pour our hearts out at midnight. Belief that Jesus was exactly who He said He was. 

Thomas… I think he was the most relate-able disciple of all.

After Jesus’ rose again, Thomas was the only friend who had the reaction I think a lot of us would have had. I mean, think about it. Your best friend just died before your very eyes. You watched His mother weeping. You watched them take Him from the cross, then sat in horror as they secured His tomb with the stone door.

Now here He is. In the flesh. 

It sounds awfully scary actually!  But none of the other disciples had this reaction. Only Thomas needed proof and Jesus was happy to ease His fears. “Put your finger here; see my hands.” He says with a kind smile. “Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”

Thomas was living proof that Jesus wants to show up for us. He wants to show out for us! When we doubt God is faithful to reveal Himself to us if we only ask.

DAILY DARE: Today ask God to reveal Himself to you in a big way. Then, share today’s dare with a friend who might be going through a period of doubt. Stand in belief together. 

 

*Was there a time in your life that could only be described as a God moment? I’d love to hear about it!

8 thoughts on “Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

  1. My whole life, for the last three years, has been a ‘God moment’. One day I’m living a somewhat normal life but completely miserable. The next, I have an accident that left me disabled. But what left me broken both literally and figuratively at first, God used to do something amazing in me. By being broken physically I was unable to keep up with the fast pace of our daily lives but because of that I was able to hear the gentle voice of God and His call on my life. I knew Him before but I didn’t KNOW HIM. He changed my life in every way through an event that most would consider tragic. I’m completely grateful for it all. God is forever faithful in His promises and He left a desire on my heart to want to tell the world how He can and will change our lives and make us whole. It’s been my reason for many things including my blog and desire for ministry through the written word.

    • I can understand how you feel, Laurie. It speaks to your sweet spirit and courageous character that even in the hardest times you didn’t drift away but drew closer. I’ve worked with Hugs and Hope for a long time as a volunteer and I never understood the immense joy that these children radiated even in their sickness until I too found myself facing a battle. When we strip away all the “stuff” in life, there’s nothing left but God… and finding that rest, that intimate place between friends, just you and God… it’s something else. The courage of those children have made what I go through easier. They have taught me so much about joy in the midst of the yuck in life.

      I am just so happy to hear that you are not only pursuing a writing ministry but that you’ve already taken the initiative to say “Here, God. Use me!” That’s what He loves to hear! If you have any questions I’d love to help you. I’ve been in the Christian publishing business a long time.

      • I can only imagine the impact you felt after working with kids with their own struggles. When you see a child struggling, with anything, it makes our problems seem so insignificant. But you’re right, when we taken down to the bare bones of ourselves and able to see our creator with more clarity, there is a such a feeling of joy. Makes you wonder why you could never find this intimacy with Him earlier. Thank you for all your kind words and encouragement. I truly appreciate it. And I would actually love to pick your brain a little about some questions I have if you really wouldn’t mind. To be completely honest, I don’t know much about it. I’ve started studying up on things to try and figure it all out the best I can. I started this because I was following what God put on my heart a while back. I know if He has truly called me to do this, he will provide the guidance I need if I just try to keep moving forward. Would it be alright if I emailed you some time? Thank you again for the encouragement.

    • You are so right, Laurie. It’s amazing how chronic illness moves the space between us and God to non-existent. And absolutely! Feel free to email me anytime. I am gearing up for a book tour and haven’t been feeling well so I’m behind on my emails but please know I will get back to you. I can’t wait to see the good things God has in store for you, Laurie!

      • Oh wow! That’s awesome! I didn’t realize you were doing a book tour. I have to get your book. I’m sorry you haven’t felt well. I know how difficult it can be to keep pushing along with an illness that’s trying to tear you down. I hope it all goes smooth for you and I will email you soon. Thank you!

      • Thank you, Laurie! I am feeling better today. My doctor thinks I had an infection that was making my MS act up. I look forward to hearing from you in the inbox. 🙂 And my pleasure! Happy to help you.

Leave a Reply

