Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

Image

 

Welcome to Day 11! 

(Pssst… I have finally joined the 21st century and started tweeting. I assure you there are 102 year old great grandmothers who know how to work Twitter more efficiently but I would love to catch up with you all there and find out about the good things God is doing in your life! You can find me here… @LBrookeKeith   )

Do you ever get fed up with your job? Are you feeling unappreciated at home? Really want to scream/yell/gripe/bite-someone/throw-an-adult-sized-tantrum-on-the-kitchen-floor…. I’ve been there. 

Not getting the recognition for a job well done can be really trying. Especially when you are feeling burnt out. With 5 kids (and one grown up kid, cough, cough) sometimes it’s easy to feel under appreciated without anyone even realizing it. On those days I have all but went on strike on the patio with my little sign in hand, thinking of ways I could get them to realize that this “doing stuff” thing doesn’t come cheap to us MS girls. It takes energy – and we only get so much, or lack thereof, each given day. Each motion takes away from my little jar of stick-to-it-ivness. There comes a time in the day when my body says “Yep! You’re done!”

I know you all understand that. You don’t have to have a chronic illness to get past the point of no return. Sometimes you just get burnt out and used up… and you just don’t have anything else to give… and yet – you keep on giving. You reach down deep and pull out that borrowed-from-tomorrow stuff that will no doubt leave you feeling like you just recovered from the plague for the rest of the week.

No matter what it is, if feeling unappreciated starts at home – or maybe at the office – or maybe even at your church…

It’s discouraging to feel like the things you are pouring your heart into are being taken for granted. It’s then and only then when we start to feel completely drained. It’s then and only then do we feel resentment for pulling from that place of tomorrow’s reserve. But we are designed to crave approval. Gratitude is GOOD. The problem is when we stop appreciating the approval we have each and every minute we are alive and that’s the approval that can only come from Jesus and the sanctifying purpose He has placed on our hearts.

People are going to be forgetful, selfish and moody. I know – I’m “a people”. 🙂 I’ve been all those things and I’m sure there will come a time when I am those things again. But when we are focusing on Jesus, when we are truly looking to bring Him glory what matters most is that in all things we bring HIM glory. That doesn’t mean never stop to rest. Not at all! But it does mean going through the day with a positive attitude, doing what you can and having the good sense to know when you need God to do the rest.

When your boss is a jerk… keep working hard. Keep giving it your all. He may not see you but God sees you. When your kids bypass you for the iPad… keep your joy. Keep showing them Jesus. When your husband woofs down dinner without even a “Mmm”… keep preparing those meals with loveWhatever you do… do it to God’s glory. I assure you… He will show His appreciation in ways you can only dream of – even (and especially!) when others don’t

 

DAILY DARE: Today devote yourself %100 percent to a positive attitude in all you do. When you are doing “all to God’s glory” there is no room for grudges. 

 

*Have you ever felt under-appreciated? How did it make you feel?

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

    • Liana, that made me giggle! 🙂 Thank you so much for the prayers. The same very beautiful and heartfelt prayers for you and yours as well. And thank you so much for the kind words! You inspire me too!!

    • 🙂 We seem to be riding the same brain waves this week don’t we? ESP! 🙂

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Laura! They made my day! I too am inspired by YOU!

  1. Great Grace and Great Peace be upon you, Brooke. I understand those times, but it is so loving how keeping Jesus in focus he always gives us that press to continue moving forward. What great love he has for us. Thank you so much for reading, liking and following my blog – I pray you were blessed and I return have been blessed by your writing and for that I scream “Thank You”…..Strength of Jesus be upon you mightily.

    • Thank you,, Jacqueline! Greater love has no man than this… He is so faithful! I look forward to reading more of your encouraging words, Jacqueline! God bless you ten fold!

      • Yes, He is. Thank you for receiving the words which flow out of my heart. Your words are a blessing to me as well. Great peace and Great grace to you and your family.

  2. Teachers always feel under appreciated, but then they’re are those parents and students who do indeed make us feel like what we do is appreciated and valued. I pray for strength for you this week. Just take it one day at a time. That’s the amount of strength the Lord gives us each day, just enough for that day. It took me a long time to get that but now that I do, it’s just one day at a time “sweet Jesus.” Hugs, Mrs. Teacherberry

    • It’s so true, Mrs. Teacherberry! 🙂 I love that. Thank you so much for your prayers. I can tell just from your kind spirit that you gave your students all they needed to succeed. One day at a time sweet Jesus… that takes me back. One of my favorite hymns from our old home church.

      • Indeed I tried to give them what they needed to be successful, but all I could do was take the “horse” to water. The “horse” had to choose to drink for itself and sadly some never did. I pray you have a great week, Brooke.
        Hugs, Mrs. Enjoyingyourblogberry

  3. Thank you for our appreciation and posting … serving the Lord is the best yet though seemingly way to tough to hold on … ? Alone yes! Thanks again Brooke! =)

Leave a Reply

