GIVEAWAY – Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

Image

 

Welcome to Day 13!

Today I want to share an excerpt with you directly from the book. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I have enjoyed these past two weeks of living Jesus’ Words with you all and getting to know more about your lives. God is good! 

Warner and I are currently forming a launch team for Radically Red: Dare to Live the Words of Christ. People are hungry for Jesus and I am so excited to see what small part Radically Red will play in showing them His face and heart. If you are interested in helping us out via your blog or other social media outlets it would mean so much to me. We are using the hashtag #JoinTheRedolution. (Kind of catchy right?)

As always I am so incredibly blessed to be sharing this walk with all of you. It feels so much like this thing is OURS, God’s, yours & mine, and I hope that you all have grown to feel that way too. Did I mention it’s also a contest day? 🙂 Any one who tweets our hashtag or reblogs will be entered to win a copy of Radically Red. Remember if you blog it to use the tag Radically Red so I can find you! 

Now for today’s devotion and dare… 

 


 

The days that change our lives forever don’t come stamped with a special seal or wrapped in shiny golden paper. There are no visible markings that say we should awaken to greet the day with new joy or anticipate the extraordinary.

Nothing feels different.

Nothing changed.

In fact, the days that define our very lives will be the days that start out like any other.

Do you ever feel stuck in a long line of ordinary days?

I know of a man who probably felt that way too. But the day the blind man, this man, would see was also just another day in a long line of the ordinary. Like the day before, he awoke in his ordinary bed. In his ordinary life. In the same ordinary darkness he had been in since birth.

This awakening of another ordinary day meant that he wasn’t looking for Jesus at all. He did not anticipate his miracle. He probably didn’t even know that the footsteps he heard were anything more than another ordinary passerby. He had no way of knowing Jesus was looking for him! He even left the temple on the Sabbath to find this man He had never met yet somehow known since time began.

This was the moment that would define his life forever. This was the day when the ordinary would collide with the extraordinary. This was the day that he would meet his Savior.

Spit meets dirt and mud meets eyes, maybe without any words at all.

Eyes open to light streaming.  

And just like that, a day like any other has suddenly become phenomenal. The very first break of darkness awakened by the Light of the World. What a first sight it must have been to see the extraordinary Jesus through a mix of sunlight and ordinary mud.

So many of us go about life giving up on the extraordinary.  We are caught in the endless web of bills we can’t pay and things we can’t offer our children. We are overwhelmed by illnesses and grievances. By circumstances and heart ache. But we are so caught up in living an ordinary life that we release the possibility of the extraordinary because we’ve been trapped in the same old same old for what seems like all our lives. We get so caught up . . . we give up.

Is there something you are believing for? Or more important, something you have stopped believing for? What is the extraordinary thing you’ve given up on? What is the miracle that never came that made you stop seeking out Jesus? When you feel like you can’t cry out anymore. When your heart is tired of waking up in the ordinary and you are tired of looking for Jesus – consider instead that Jesus is looking FOR you. And most of all, have a little faith remembering the days that change your life, the extraordinary moments . . . will start out like any ordinary day.

 

*******Is there something you have asked God for that you have gave up on?*******

 

Daily Dare: Today as Jesus comes looking for you . . . look out for someone else. Pick at random a name and address from the phone book. Anonymously, photocopy this page and drop it in the mail or you can write up your own message that is on your heart. Send the envelope off with a prayer and promise that will revive your belief in God’s hand in your life… and theirs too.

 

20 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY – Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life

  1. Reblogged this on Purposely Positive and commented:
    I have really enjoyed this 40 day challenge and the thought provoking content, so I wanted to share this with everyone. The author of the soon to release book, “Radically Red: Dare to Live the Words of Christ”, Brooke Keith has offered real challenges to make you stretch out of your comfort zone while grower closer to Christ. She’s also holding a contest for a giveaway of the book. Read below, how you can participate.

    • Oh wow! You did a great write up! 🙂 I think someone should hire you to do intros. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this, Laurie. I so appreciate all your help!

      • Haha! Thank you! I would love to do intros. Wouldn’t even know where to start to find that kind of job though. 😊 I used to have people offer to pay me to write letters for them but they were friends so that wasn’t an option. I’m still learning so much about this whole industry. It’s a big transition from things I’ve always done. Writing was just a dream even though I’ve been told many times that I should do it. It’s so crazy how God works though. An accident that changed my life and left me unable to do any of the work I used to do (Medical Assistant for years then transitioned into the real estate industry doing mortgages and I’m still a licensed real estate agent)… Now I’m able to focus on what really matters to me. Being true to myself and expressing that truth and allowing God to work in and through me. I have REALLY enjoyed getting to know you too! I’m such a fan and you are a great inspiration to me. And I will be glad to help anyway I can. Just let me know. 😉

      • I’m so sorry to hear that you had to give up your old job. It’s hard to feel like you are starting over. I believe that you are safe in the Father’s hand, Laurie, and I think that while God is not the author of sickness that He uses everything to our good. It looks like He’s closing the door on the old and opening doors for you to share His heart with people through words. I too am a big fan of you, Laurie! You are a wonderful.

      • I really hope that you love it, Laurie! I have so enjoyed getting to know you. I will be the first in line when you write your first book. 🙂

      • I’m sure I will love it. Can’t wait for the release. I do hope that publishing a book is in my future. If I could get these health issues under control i would be able to focus much better but I know God is using this time to prepare me.

      • Health issues are so tough to walk through especially when you are in the limbo period of figuring out what’s going on and how to treat it. The good news is that this too shall pass. Your diagnosis is still so new and I know you are also waiting to find out some additional info too.

        You might try keeping a journal. I really feel like I turned the corner on my diagnosis when I started writing out my feelings. As it turned out a page in my journal would become the basis of this book.

        God is faithful to help us fulfill the dreams He has placed in our heart and I know that He will use this time to help you better connect with others who are hurting so that you can write the words He wants them to hear. I believe in you, Laurie!

      • Thank you Brooke. I sincerely mean that. It has been so much fun getting to know you too. Your writing literally stirs me inside. Kind of like adding fuel to spark that’s my desire to write. Lol (If that makes any sense) I just recently read somewhere that you are from GA. I didn’t realize that. Small world considering the many places people are from on here. I read it somewhere while I was trying to find your email. But I couldn’t find that. If it’s still ok for me to send you the email with some questions, would you mind sending me one to address at lauriefharrison@gmail.com, (in case you didn’t want your public), so I would have it or let me know whatever way you had rather be contacted. Oh, and I actually starting keeping a journal a few months ago. It’s been theraputic and I hope will help put some of the pieces of this puzzle together soon. I hope you have a wonderful day!

      • Just dropped you a line. 🙂 Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. They have blessed me so much! I know that God is working in your life right now and I assure you that even through this difficult time you are going to see great things happening in spite of it… maybe even BECAUSE of it. Hugs to you my friend.

    • Aw, Mrs. Huggyberry… that may be the cutest one yet. 🙂 That sounds like a teddy bear in a picture book. I may have to make that happen! 🙂 Thank you for all the well wishes and smiles, my friend.

Leave a Reply

